The colours of the liberation
as told by the tapestry

The tapestry and its key figures online...

Anto-Carte and De Wit not only tell of the King. They also show the pride of the victors and the aspirations of the military leaders. The wearied heads of the font-line soldiers reflect the exhaustion of the ordinary population. Looking down on all of this from high on the balconies are the civic leaders, diplomats and politicians. There too, drama is not in short supply.

They are images of real people who lived through (survived) the war and were present on that famous day on 22 November. At the same time, they are also archetypal figures alerting us to the consequences of brutality. They all have their own story to tell.

The starting point for this virtual exhibition is a majestic work of art that gives tangible form to an important part of our history. Take the time to become acquainted with the characters, to enjoy the marvellous heritage and to discover your own roots in the authentic archive documents.

Introduction

This online exhibition on the Anto-Carte wall tapestry is divided into seven subject areas raised by King Albert in his speech. Each area has its own colour.

schema van het wandtapijt met de verschillende groepen

1. The Royal Family and the Belgian Army
2. The Allied procession in Brussels
3. The military commanders
4. The people
5. VIPs on the balcony
6. "MENSE NOVEMBRI DIE XXII"
7. The Palace of the Nation

Les couleurs de la libération
la tapisserie raconte

La tapisserie et ses personnages en ligne

Anto-Carte et De Wit ne racontent pas seulement l'histoire du Roi. Ils montrent aussi la fierté des vainqueurs et l'ambition des chefs militaires. Les visages fatigués des soldats du front font écho à l'épuisement de la population. Les notables, les diplomates et les hommes politiques contemplent la scène du haut des balcons. Là aussi, l'intensité dramatique est palpable.

Les personnages incarnent des personnes réelles qui ont (sur)vécu (à) la guerre et étaient présentes ce fameux 22 novembre. Ce sont en même temps des figures archétypales qui servent à attirer l'attention sur les conséquences de la violence. Chacun de ces personnages a une histoire propre à raconter.

Une oeuvre d'art magistrale sert de point de départ à cette exposition virtuelle qui vise à rendre tangible un volet majeur de notre histoire. Prenez le temps de faire connaissance avec les personnages, d'admirer la beauté de ce patrimoine et de découvrir vos propres racines dans les documents d'archives authentiques.

Guide d'utilisation

Cette exposition en ligne sur la tapisserie d'Anto-Carte est divisée en sept thèmes, tous évoqués par le Roi Albert dans son discours du Trône. Chaque thème a sa propre couleur.

la tapisserie avec les différents thèmes

1. La Famille Royale et l'armée belge
2. Le défilé des alliés dans Bruxelles
3. Les commandants militaires
4. Le peuple
5. Les personnalités au balcon
6. "MENSE NOVEMBRI DIE XXII"
7. Au Palais de la Nation